LogiMAT 2019

Faubel showed e-paper displays without batteries.

More than 60,000 international trade visitors went through the halls of Messe Stuttgart to attend LogiMAT 2019. Faubel & Co. Nachfolger GmbH, the specialist for functional labels, was among the 1,624 exhibitors of the show where it unveiled its batteryless Smart Label with e-paper display.

As Andreas Bartling, Business Development Manager for North Germany at Faubel, explained it to our visitors, "E-paper displays are perfect for marking products or processes that require variable labeling". Controlled by rewritable RFID tags, E-paper displays are able to replace standard paper labels. The latest generation of Faubel Smart Labels is batteryless: the energy needed to update the display is supplied by the RFID field of the reader.

Durable and permanent labeling

"Batteryless Smart Labels are durable and maintenance free. That's why they are particularly suitable for labeling within Kanban and closed-loop processes", added Bartling. With its high resolution, the display is able to show all the important data such as letters, numbers, QR and Data Matrix codes. For example, visitors to Faubel's booth saw how Smart Labels used for marking plastic boxes were carried on a conveyor belt and updated at two different stations. E-paper displays can be screwed or stuck to the boxes, plugged in sideways or attached to them by magnets or Velcro.

Andreas Bartling reviewed the three-day show positively: "LogiMAT 2019 was a real success for Faubel. Attendance was high and so was the quality of the talks we had."

 

Faubel Messestand, Logimat 2019

Faubel fair Team (from left to right): Andreas Bartling, Diana Aland, Business Development Manager for Central Europe, Patrick Hubert, Development Engineer at SIL System Integration Laboratory GmbH, and Petra Schäffner, Business Development Manager for South Germany.

LogiMAT 2019

Faubel zeigte batterielose E-Paper-Displays.

Über 60.000 internationale Fachbesucher strömten anlässlich der LogiMAT 2019 durch die Hallen der Messe Stuttgart. Zu den 1.624 Ausstellern zählte auch die Faubel & Co. Nachfolger GmbH. Der Spezialist für Funktionsetiketten zeigte erstmals Smart Label mit E-Paper-Display ohne Batterie.

„E-Paper-Displays sind eine ideale Kennzeichnung für Produkte oder Prozesse, die eine veränderliche Beschriftung erfordern“, erklärte Andreas Bartling, Business Development Manager Norddeutschland bei Faubel, den Besuchern des Messestands. Ein wiederbeschreibbarer RFID-Tag steuert das E-Paper-Display und ersetzt dadurch die klassischen Papieretiketten. Die neueste Generation der Smart Label von Faubel funktioniert ohne Batterie. Das RFID-Feld eines Readers liefert die notwendige Energie für die Aktualisierung des Displays.

Langlebige und dauerhafte Kennzeichnung

„Ohne Batterie sind Smart Label langlebig und wartungsfrei. Daher eignen sie sich besonders für die Kennzeichnung innerhalb von Kanban- und Closed-Loop-Prozessen“, so Bartling. Dank der guten Auflösung bilde das Display alle dafür notwendigen Elemente wie Buchstaben, Ziffern, QR- und Data-Matrix-Codes ab. So sahen die Besucher der LogiMAT auf dem Faubel-Messestand beispielweise Smart Label zur Kennzeichnung von wiederverwendbaren Kunststoffbehältern, die auf einem Förderband transportiert und an zwei Stationen aktualisiert wurden. Das E-Paper-Display an den Behältern verschraubt, verklebt, seitlich eingesteckt oder mit Hilfe von Magnet oder Klett angebracht werden.

Andreas Bartling bewertete die drei Messetage positiv: „Für Faubel verlief die LogiMAT 2019 erfolgreich. Die Quantität der Besucher war gut und die Qualität der Gespräche ebenfalls.“

Faubel Messestand, Logimat 2019

Faubel-Messeteam (v. l. n. r.): Andreas Bartling, Diana Aland, Business Development Manager Zentraleuropa, Patrick Hubert, Development Engineer beim Tochterunternehmen SIL System Integration Laboratory GmbH, und Petra Schäffner, Business Development Manager Süddeutschland.