LogiMAT 2022

Finally fair again! Faubel is hoping for numerous visitors in Stuttgart

At the next LogiMAT, which will take place from May 31 to June 2, 2022 in Stuttgart, Faubel will present, among other things, a smart label that has a direct SAP ERP interface. With this new integration, SAP ERP backend data can be visualized on an e-paper display through a mobile browser-based solution via a native app and a mobile device. This function represents a decisive step towards the overall digitalization of logistical processes.

"Faubel mainly produces multilayer adhesive labels on rolls. Some customers have their bulk goods pre-produced and then printed with variable data. To store these bulk goods, we use reusable boxes marked with routing slips." That is how Sven Rath, Management Consultant at Faubel, describes the onset of this development. It is necessary to digitize paper routing slips to prevent manual errors in the future and reduce throughput times. For this purpose, the company used the market-ready Faubel-Logistics Label, which has an RFID-controlled e-paper display, as the base technology

Application in practice

Since fall, 50 labels have been used at the Melsungen headquarters to label some 100 storage boxes. The data shown on e-paper displays comes from the internal SAP ERP system. Each label comes in a sturdy plastic housing. The Faubel-Logistics Label is then attached to the box by sliding it into a frame screwed to the box. When cleaning the boxes, labels can be easily removed and attached to other boxes. Currently, the company can choose display sizes of 1.54", 2.9", and 4.2".

Unlike other dynamic labels, the Faubel Logistics Label has a clear advantage for Sven Rath: "Our solution is battery-free. It is therefore maintenance-free and durable. The energy needed for the contactless data transfer between the label and mobile SAP software comes from the mobile device, in our case, a hand­held." Staff can use the app on their handheld to change the data displayed. It can be updated as many times as needed. The label is usually updated at individual workstations or after each production step. Information, such as the current order status, can be called up by staff in real-time from the SAP ERP system and simultaneously read on the storage box.

Visitors to LogiMAT will see the benefits of this new function for themselves. "At our booth G63 in hall 4, we will be demonstrating our holistic approach to digital labeling. Our customers will be able to get all the services they need from a single source — software, hardware, and system integration," Rath explains.

LogiMAT, Smart Label, Logistics Label

According to the production step concerned, a different template will appear on display to enable the digital routing slip to retrieve data that the operator needs.

LogiMAT 2022

Endlich wieder Messe! Faubel hofft auf zahlreiche Besucher in Stuttgart

Auf der nächsten LogiMAT, die vom 31. Mai bis 2. Juni 2022 in Stuttgart stattfindet, wird Faubel unter anderem ein Smart Label präsentieren, das über eine direkte SAP ERP-Schnittstelle verfügt. Diese Einbindung ist neu und ermöglicht es, SAP ERP-Backend-Daten durch eine mobile browserbasierte Lösung via native App und mobilem Endgerät auf einem E-Paper-Display sichtbar zu machen. Für die vollständige Digitalisierung logistischer Prozesse bedeutet diese Funktion einen großen Fortschritt.

„Faubel stellt überwiegend mehrlagige Rollenhaftetiketten her. Manche Kunden lassen Bulkware vorproduzieren, die nachträglich mit variablen Daten bedruckt wird. Zur Aufbewahrung der Bulkware setzen wir wiederverwendbare Boxen ein, die ein Laufzettel kennzeichnet.“ So beschreibt Sven Rath, Referent der Faubel-Geschäftsführung, den Ausgangspunkt der Entwicklung. Um zukünftig manuelle Fehler zu vermeiden und Durchlaufzeiten zu verringern, sollte der Laufzettel aus Papier digitalisiert werden. Als Basis-Technologie diente dem Unternehmen das marktreife Faubel-Logistics Label, das über ein RFID-gesteuertes E-Paper-Display verfügt.

Anwendung in der Praxis

Seit Herbst 2021 sind nun am Melsunger Hauptsitz 50 Labels im Einsatz, welche die knapp 100 Aufbewahrungsboxen beschriften. Die auf dem E-Paper-Display angezeigten Daten stammen aus dem internen SAP ERP-System. Jedes Label umgibt ein stabiles Kunststoffgehäuse. Durch Einschieben in einem an der Box verschraubten Rahmen wird das Faubel-Logistics Label befestigt. Werden die Boxen gereinigt, kann es leicht entfernt und an einer anderen Box angebracht werden. Derzeit kann das Unternehmen zwischen den Displaygrößen 1,54 Zoll, 2,9 Zoll und 4,2 Zoll wählen.

Im Gegensatz zu anderen dynamischen Beschriftungen hat für Sven Rath das Faubel-Logistics Label einen klaren Vorteil: „Unsere Lösung funktioniert ohne Batterie. Es ist somit wartungsfrei und langlebig. Das mobile Endgerät, in unserem konkreten Fall ein Handheld, liefert die Energie für den kontaktlosen Datentransfer zwischen Label und der mobilen SAP-Software“. Mit der App auf dem Handheld ändern die Mitarbeiter die Daten auf dem Display. Es kann beliebig viele Updates durchlaufen. Ein Update des Labels erfolgt meist an den einzelnen Arbeitsplätzen oder nach den einzelnen Produktionsschritten. Informationen, wie ein aktueller Auftragsstatus, können die Mitarbeiter in Echtzeit im SAP ERP-System abrufen und parallel an der Aufbewahrungsbox ablesen.

Die Besucher der LogiMAT können sich selbst vom Nutzen der neuen Funktion überzeugen. „An unserem Messestand G63 in Halle 4 zeigen wir unseren ganzheitlichen Ansatz für digitale Kennzeichnungen. Unsere Kunden können alle Leistungen aus einer Hand beziehen - Software, Hardware und Systemintegration“, so Rath.

LogiMAT, Smart Label, Logistics Label

Je nach Produktionsschritt erscheint ein anderes Template auf dem Display, damit der digitale Laufzettel die für den Mitarbeiter relevanten Daten abrufen kann.